Relationships Quick Answers
What are the requirements to get married in Missouri?
The couple must obtain a marriage license from the county courthouse in advance of the wedding ceremony. A form of identification, such as a driver's license, is required to obtain the marriage license and there is a short waiting period. After the waiting period, the couple must get married within 30 days.
Voluntary consent of both people is necessary for the marriage to be valid. Individuals must be 18 years of age to marry without parental consent. For individuals between the ages of 15 and 18 years to marry, they must obtain written consent from a parent or guardian. A court order is necessary for individuals under the age of 15 to get married.
The actual marriage must be solemnized by a member of the clergy, active or retired, who is in good standing with any church or synagogue in the state of Missouri, or by any judge of a court of record other than a municipal or city judge. Common law marriage does not exist in Missouri, but common law marriages that began in another state where common law marriage is legal may be recognized by Missouri law.
Source: Kim Leon, Ph.D., Former Human Development and Family Studies, College of Human Environmental Sciences, University of Missouri-Columbia
Last update: Wednesday, August 20, 2008