MU Extension MU Extension       University of Missouri    ●    Columbia    ●    Kansas City       Rolla     ●    St. Louis - Food Safety


Quick Answers



How do I know what cut of beef to buy?

The cut of beef you purchase depends on how you want to cook it. There are four basic major cuts into which beef is separated. They are chuck, loin, rib, and round. Usually beef is also labeled with the product, such as "chuck roast" or "round steak". This can aid consumers when buying cuts of beef. Chuck and round are less tender cuts and require moist heat such as braising. Loin and rib are more tender and can be cooked by dry heat such as broiling or grilling.




Shannon Crosby, Dietetic Intern, Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services






Last update: Tuesday, May 05, 2009



University of Missouri logo links to

Site Administrator:
Copyright  ADA  Equal Opportunity

MissouriFamilies is produced by the College of Human Environmental Sciences,
Extension Division, University of Missouri