I am a Missouri renter living in a foreclosed building. What are my rights?
The federal Helping Families Save Their Homes Act requires:
- At least 90 days notice of eviction
- Renter stays under current lease terms
- New owner occupies home as primary
- Renter has month-to-month lease**
**At least 90 days notice of eviction.
Section 8/Housing Choice Voucher renters have same protections except where new owner will occupy home as primary residence.
The federal law replaces the Missouri law that required 10 days written notice of eviction after a foreclosure sale. If a state offers greater protections than federal law then state law applies.
To learn more: White House Briefing Room http://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing_room/, search for “Helping Families Save Their Homes Act”.
Lisa Hamilton-Hill, Graduate Research Assistant, Architectural Studies, University of Missouri Extension
Can't Find Your Question Here? Try
Searching Our Quick Answer Knowledge Base
Last update: Wednesday, June 03, 2009